//
you're reading...
Athletic Development, Fitness

How can I learn from my kids for a better workout?

RunningWatching my kids who are 4, 3, and 1. I’m amazed what mentally stimulates them to learn. My 4 year old can read and is always looking for a challenge. My 3 year old was tired of my oldest getting praises when going potty so she decided, “I will be potty trained too.” My one year is playing keep up with the other two. The great thing they work very well together and in some ways trying to out do each other.

Our bodies work similar as my example with my kids. Our bodies are machines and want to work the most efficient as possible. The body has to be stimulated to gain results for physical fitness. The stimulates are going to be a few different factors. I’ve already mentioned the three major principles Overload, Reversibility, and Specificity (SAID).

Now each principle will have sub groups or things to think about to go along with the overall principle. What are the subgroups to think about? Intensity Duration and Frequency are the major sub groups to think about.

Intensity: The intensity we put forth in a work out can be a few things. The volume the lifter does over the full workout. How close to your 1 rm you are lifting at and the rest between sets or tempo.

Duration : This is how long each workout is

Frequency : Frequency is how often you are doing your workout.

How can I incorporate this into my exercise program? How Important are these subgroups for my overall fitness goals? You can’t reach your overall goals without applying these principles. If you have heard to change your workouts up that will fall into this principle.

Your body will adapt to the amount of stress you place on it. When this happens you will start to hit a plateau. So when you are looking to make changes to your workouts look at how close you are to your 1 rm look at how often you are at the gym and last how often you are going to the gym.

If you do make changes for the novice lifter or regular to stay fit person. You can make changes between 6 to 4 weeks. More experience lifters 3 to 2 weeks before making a change. Make sure you are are not settling with one routine for this upcoming year.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow Us

